Beautiful You

I spent some time last week looking at a book I bought a few month ago.  The title is Organic Body Care Recipes by Stephanie Tourles.  As I looked through it I thought “I should make one of these recipes”  They were quite simple to make.

 The first thing I wanted to make was a facial cream, solely because as a woman I use lots of facial cream.  I use it everytime I wash my face.  On a side note, do guys moisturize their faces each time they wash it?  Anyways…  I had must the ingredients to make the Rich and Royal Regeneration Flower Cream.  I substituted a couple of things because I didn’t have them.

 The acting ingredients are as follows:

 Almond oil: Nutritious it has a high fatty acid content and penetrates well.

Grape seed oil: is excellent for moisturizing the skin It works well as a lubricant and is instrumental in rejuvenating and has regenerating qualities.  Another of the benefits of grape seed oil is that it is very high in antioxidants and contains high amounts of vitamin E, vitamin C, Beta-Carotene, and vitamin D

Beeswax:  Used to thicken the cream.  “Adds a sweet, honeylike fragrance”

Vitamin E: Acts as a preservative.  “It aids in the prevention of scar tissue resulting from burns, weight gain, pregnancy, cuts, wounds, and surgery.”

Lavender: “Its aroma is known for its relaxing, calming effect on the central nervous system.  Sedative, antispasmodic, and antiseptic; it can be used to relieve sunburns, insect bites, buts, blemish, headaches, muscular aches.”

Neroli: Promotes cell regeneration and improves elasticity.

Ylang-Ylang (so nice they named it twice): “The scent relaxes muscles as well as the central nervous system.  Regulates sebum production for all skin types.”

 It was fairly easy to make.  The recipe was easy to follow.  The final product was not all that smooth, but it may have been because I took a couple of short cuts.  As you can see in the picture it give a tiny amount, 1/4 of a cup to be exact.

 I applied a little bit of it on my skin and told my brother to smell… and he coughed!  He thought it was quite strong, and I would have to agree.  But I guess it makes sense; the author did mention that the “cream is highly concentrated; you’ll need only a pea-sized amount to cover the face and throat and a little more to cover the décolleté.”

 I did try it after the cream was synergized.  I did not dare try it on my face first (I didn’t want to mess up the money-maker) so I went with my décolleté and throat.  My skin looked really nice.  No allergic reaction (YAY!).  And I felt like I was wearing a really nice and floral perfume.

Keep yourselves beautiful.

Leave a Reply

