The Best Fruit: CAKE! :0)

Warning: Due to the nature of the post, please make sure to cover your keyboard with some sort of plastic.  I can not be held responsible for damage of electronic devices due to drooling over said devices.

I love cake.  Not only are they easy to make but they are delicious if you can bake it just right.  On Friday I baked an apple spice cake.  It was a the first time I tried this particular recipe.  I will have to make modifications to it because it came out a bit too heavy for my taste.  I wanted it to be lighter, more fluffy, more scrumptious… please stop salivating over your keyboard (read warning above).

The cake was made with your usual suspects, flour, butter, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, vanilla (which I did not add) & eggs.  What made it an apple spice cake was apple sauce, ginger powder, clove powder, cinnamon powder & nutmeg powder.  Once the cake was baked it had a really nice spice like aroma.  I was making this cake for some friends that were coming over to our place on Saturday.  I have to say it almost didn’t make it.  My dad was threating the life of the cake saying that it was taunting him.

To accompany the cake I made a nice orange cream cheese butter cream.  The cream consisted of cream cheese (11 oz), powdered sugar (sifted after measuring 3-3 3/4 cups), finely grated orange zest (2 1/2 teaspoons), finely grated lemon zest (1 1/4 teaspoons), lemon juice (1 tablespoon), vanilla extract (1 teaspoon).  It was simple enough, just mix all ingredients until well blended and free of lumps.

If you are interested, the recipes I used are found in the recipe book The All-American Dessert Book.

I haven’t checked on my guest to see if they are still alive, but since I ate  two slices and I’m here to report on the cake, I can assume that all is well.  All my guest enjoyed the cake, some even had two slices (JFR) I was counting ;). Others loved it all (AM).  And some enjoyed the frosting the most (SM).  My parents enjoyed it as well, but I’m sure that my mom won’t ask me to make it again since she has her all time favorite dessert.  I will post what it is in October.

I know that some of you didn’t taste it, but make sure to enjoy the picture! LOL

Yum 🙂

Staying round and happy with cake consumption.

Leave a Reply

