Cake Insanity

I made this cake twice in the span of 5 days.  I made a Coffee Pecan Cake with Coffee Mascarpone Cream as a filling and Swiss Meringue Frosting.  I haven’t had it yet, but I think it will taste awesome.  The first one I made was the cake the Coffee Mascarpone cream as the filling and the frosting and that was good.

The cake was adapted from Bon Appetite’s Jan 2007 (Coffee Walnut Cake with Coffee Mascarpone Cream).  I did this twice today to make four cakes.

Cake

  • 1 cup walnuts (about 4 ounces), toasted, chopped, divided
  • 1 cup sugar, divided
  • 1 tablespoon instant espresso powder
  • 1 1/3 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 10 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk

Read More http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Coffee-Walnut-Cake-with-Coffee-Mascarpone-Cream-236891#ixzz19MHWT2ro

Macarpone filling

1 8-ounce container mascarpone
1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar, sifted
1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 tablespoon amaretto, Kahlua, or brandy (Deb note: I used brandy)
1 cup cold heavy cream
2 1/2 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, finely chopped, or about 1/2 cup store-bought mini chocolate chips (I forgot to add this to the cake :))

For the espresso extract:
2 tablespoons instant espresso powder
2 tablespoons boiling water

For the espresso syrup:
1/2 cup water
1/3 cup sugar
1 tablespoon amaretto, Kahlua, or brandy (Note: I used Kahlua)

Swiss Butter Cream

For a 9-inch cake (plus filling, or some to spare)
1 cup sugar
4 large egg whites
26 tablespoons butter, softened (3 sticks plus 2 tablespoons)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Here are some pictures of what I did.

First cake with mascarpone filling and frosting.

Second cake. Isn't she pretty?

The mascarpone and swiss meringue recipe I got from http://smittenkitchen.com/.  I think she is amazing.  I’ve only read her blog a couple of times but what I’ve had so far is making me want to make more of  the recipes she has posted.

I know I seem very short today and the reason is because I finished the cake above about three hours ago, which means I can go eat it in a couple of minutes.

Well Keep yourselves…. mmmm… I can’t think of anything. 😉

P.S.  Maybe I’ll post a picture of a slice of it.

Exactly 1 hour and 10 minutes later:

Yumm!

Everyone at home thought it was a really good cake.  I’ve never made buttercream with egg whites, but I have to say that it was really sturdy and light.  Lisa was right!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sabine
    Dec 27, 2010 @ 22:27:33

    Save me slice!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

